Local SES Volunteers Recognised At Volunteer Charter Signing

Baulkham Hills State Liberal MP David Elliott and Local Controller Evelyn Lester have today co-signed a new SES Volunteer Charter at the Hills SES Unit.

The Volunteer Charter sets out the roles and expectations of volunteers, the NSW Government and the SES and the NSW State Emergency Service Volunteer Association (NSW SESVA) in serving the community.

The formulation of the Charter, which also bears the signatures of SES Commissioner Adam Dent and Minister for Police and Emergency Services Stuart Ayres, coincides with the SES’s 60th Anniversary of serving the community in times of floods, storms and other emergencies.

“The SES has a proud history and culture, and this process enshrines these values in a comprehensive document which has been distributed to Units across the state,’” Mr Elliott said.

“It also outlines the responsibilities of the NSW Government and the SES leadership in ensuring the interests of volunteers are looked after.

“It is a great honour to be involved in this process and we want to express our gratitude to each and every volunteer in the Baulkham Hills area for the outstanding work they do,” Mr Elliott added.

Mrs Lester also welcomed the opportunity to sign the Charter locally.

“The SES thrives on volunteers, and I am pleased that our local volunteers can feel secure in the support they receive from the NSW Government,” Mrs Lester said.

The Charter will be displayed at the Hills Unit following the signing.