Nominations Open For Premier’s Multicultural Community Medals

Nominations for the 2014 Premier’s Multicultural Community Medals are now open and local MPs David Elliott and Dominic Perrottet are calling for nominations to recognise community leaders who have made outstanding contributions to the society of NSW.

 The awards are an important opportunity for Hills based multicultural community leaders to be recognised for their service and achievements. 

  “We encourage people to identify current leaders within our multicultural communities whose outstanding service warrants special recognition. The nomination process is simple and this is an opportunity to put forward the name of an unsung hero, whose work merits this accolade,” Mr Elliott and Mr Perrottet said

 NSW Premier Barry O’Farrell said “these awards place particular emphasis on the contribution of members of multicultural communities who go one step further, and work outside of their communities, in their efforts to foster respect and understanding within society.”

 Nominations are also open for the Multicultural Honour Roll, which places on permanent record the names and achievements of significant immigrant pioneers.

Minister for Citizenship and Communities Victor Dominello said he was confident there would be a high calibre of nominees for this year’s medals.

 “In our six inaugural medallists, we discovered a group of community leaders whose work has opened up economic opportunities, created greater tolerance and strengthened understanding about our cultural diversity,” he said.

 The Multicultural Community Medals Program is now in its second year and recognises six categories of community service: 

  • Stepan Kerkyasharian AO Harmony Award – for an individual or organisation building social cohesion and acceptance between members of different cultural or faith communities;
  • Youth – for an individual under the age of 25 who promotes intercultural dialogue and understanding;
  • Lifetime Community Service – for an individual who demonstrates exceptional commitment to service within a migrant community;
  • Arts and Culture – for an individual who enhances the cultural and artist life in NSW through the promotion of cultural understanding;
  • Regional Communities – for an individual who contributes significantly to the wellbeing of a particular regional community; and,
  • Economic Participation – for an individual who fosters stronger economic relations between NSW and another country in the industry sector (nominations made by the NSW Multicultural Business Advisory Panel).

 Mr O’Farrell will announce the winners at the Premier’s Harmony Dinner on 10 April 2014 at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.

 Details on the Multicultural Community Medals, including information on how to lodge a nomination, can be found on the Community Relations Commission website, Nominations close on 21 February 2014.