Local Residents Encouraged To Recognise Outstanding Women In Local Government

Baulkham Hills State Liberal MP David Elliott is calling on the local community to celebrate the contributions of inspirational women by making a nomination for the 2020 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government.

Mr Elliott said the annual awards recognise the valuable contributions female councillors and council staff make to improve the lives of local residents.

“Local residents now have the opportunity to nominate a female staff member or councillor at The Hills Shire Council or City of Parramatta to go up against high achieving women from councils across the State for one of these prestigious awards,” Mr Elliott said.

“These awards are a chance for our community to publicly acknowledge these women and all the hard work they do to improve our lives.”

The NSW Government has announced new award categories to better reflect changes in the local government sector.

The new award categories now open for nominations are:

  • Employment Diversity Award – a successful council program to increase female participation in senior leadership roles or at the elected representative level;
  • Elected Representative Award – a councillor who has advanced the position of female elected representatives
  • Champion of Change Award – a general manager or senior manager who has excelled in supporting and encouraging women’s participation at their council;
  • Alternative Pathways Award – a female staff member who is the first to enter a role traditionally held by men or is breaking down gender stereotypes; and,
  • Young Achiever’s Award – an outstanding trainee/apprentice (aged under 25).

Minister for Local Government Shelley Hancock said the awards promote the NSW Government’s ongoing commitment to diversity within local government.

“Local communities around NSW are stronger thanks to the many exceptionally talented women in the State’s 128 local councils,” Mrs Hancock said.

“We need to ensure councils attract and are led by our best and brightest. These awards are a way of inspiring the next generation of women to take up important roles in local government as either staff or elected representatives.”

Nominations will close on 12 February 2020. The awards will be presented at an official function at Parliament House in Sydney on March 24.

Full details of the categories and information on how to make a nomination can be found at www.olg.nsw.gov.au.